1 877 412-8527

Galapagos In-Brief

Galapagos Cruise

  • La Pinta
  • Expedition Ship
  • 48 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2018, 2019 View Departure>
    • 2018
    • Dec 20 Thu
    • 2019
    • Jan 3 Thu
    • Jan 7 Mon
    • Jan 17 Thu
    • Jan 21 Mon
    • Jan 31 Thu
    • Feb 4 Mon
    • Feb 14 Thu
    • Feb 18 Mon
    • Feb 28 Thu
    • Mar 4 Mon
    • Mar 14 Thu
    • Mar 18 Mon
    • Mar 28 Thu
    • Apr 1 Mon
    • Apr 11 Thu
    • Apr 15 Mon
    • Apr 25 Thu
    • Apr 29 Mon
    • May 9 Thu
    • May 13 Mon
    • May 23 Thu
    • May 27 Mon
    • Jun 6 Thu
    • Jun 10 Mon
    • Jun 20 Thu
    • Jun 24 Mon
    • Jul 4 Thu
    • Jul 8 Mon
    • Jul 18 Thu
    • Jul 22 Mon
    • Aug 1 Thu
    • Aug 5 Mon
    • Aug 15 Thu
    • Aug 19 Mon
    • Aug 29 Thu
    • Sep 2 Mon
    • Sep 26 Thu
    • Sep 30 Mon
    • Oct 10 Thu
    • Oct 14 Mon
    • Oct 24 Thu
    • Oct 28 Mon
    • Nov 7 Thu
    • Nov 11 Mon
    • Dec 19 Thu
  • Price from
  • $4,358
  • I'm Interested

Summary : For the ultimate wildlife experience, tour the islands aboard a bright and modern ship with Jacuzzi, kayaks, glass-bottom boat, and knowledgeable guides. The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife--from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies.

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Prices from
$4,358 to $4,490

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Baltra Island

Arrive at the Baltra airport and be met by your guide to begin your journey.

Day 2 – 4
Explore the Galapagos Islands

Listed below is a sample of the islands you may visit during your expedition, and the types of activities you may experience.

Bartolome Island:
Take a steep climb up a wooden staircase for views that are worth the effort! Enjoy a Zodiac ride around iconic Pinnacle Rock followed by time to enjoy the beach and snorkel. Or ride in the glass-bottom boat for great views of the underwater world.

Española Island:
Enjoy an outing at Punta Suárez with an exciting walk over lava/boulder terrain to visit the “blowhole” and unique sea bird colonies which may include the waved albatrosses (April - January), boobies and swallow-tail gulls. Keep an eye out for red-green-black marine iguanas. Visit the white coral beach of Gardner Bay for a short walk to observe the sea lions, mockingbirds, and finches. The area is great for snorkeling. You have a chance to kayak, or ride in the glass-bottom boat.

Genovesa Island:
Enjoy an easy stroll to observe marine and land birds. There is an optional walk over sharp lava and uneven terrain for dramatic views, or else you can return to the beach to enjoy swimming and snorkeling at this beautiful natural harbor. The more adventurous can snorkel or kayak along the cliffs.

San Cristobal Island:
Visit Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the islands' capital, and drive to the southern shore. At Cerro Colorado, visit the breeding center for highly endangered giant tortoises in the midst of a fantastic deciduous forest, home to dozens of bird species, including the San Cristobal mockingbird, and the San Cristobal lava lizard. Or you might land at the eastern tip of San Cristobal Island and hike a trail that ascends from the beach giving spectacular views of the shoreline. Observe frigate birds and a colony of sea lions. There may be a chance to swim from the beach and snorkel.

Santa Cruz Island:
Take a Zodiac ride to Eden Islet, located off the coast of Santa Cruz, where you can observe blue-footed boobies diving into the water, and frigates soaring above. There's a chance to snorkel and, if weather condition permit, ride in the glass-bottom boat. The volcanic setting of this area is quite stunning due to its variety of volcanic debris, including cinder cones, tuff cones, and semi-eroded lava flows.

Santa Fe Island:
Land on an idyllic sandy-white beach populated by colonies of sea lions. Galapagos hawks may be spotted perched atop salt bushes. The Santa Fe land iguana, unique to just this island, may be spotted during the walk.

Santiago Island:
Board the Zodiacs for a short ride to Sullivan Bay on the east coast of Santiago where a white coral sand beach awaits. Walk over lava that flowed here less than 100 years ago—the perfect place to see and feel the volcanic origin of the Galapagos Islands while observing its wildlife.

Sombrero Chino Islet:
This tiny island gets its name from its appearance—a Chinese-style hat. Explore its 400-meter long trail, which begins at a crescent-shaped white sandy beach. The cove offers excellent swimming and snorkeling opportunities with the possibility of spotting Galapagos penguins.

South Plaza Island:
Turquoise waters contrast brilliantly with the white sand and black lava of the shoreline, while a carpet of scarlet sesuvium succulents serves as groundcover for a grove of prickly-pear cactus as you watch for yellow-gray land iguanas. Along the coastline, sea lions gather while seabirds play in the thermals that form along the cliffs of this small but amazing island.

NOTE: This trip is a part of a longer trip; therefore, you may have passengers onboard who will be on the longer trip.

Day 5
Baltra Island

Disembark and transfer by bus to the airport for your flight back to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes. Read this itinerary as a guide only, as the exact route and the wildlife you encounter may vary.

This trip is a part of a longer trip; therefore, you may have passengers onboard who will be on the longer trip.

Included:
Shared transfer in Quito (Casa Gangotena, Hilton Colon, Mercure, Sheraton, Marriott, Dann Carlton) or Guayaquil (Hilton Colon, Oro Verde, Wyndham, Sheraton) to airport from select hotels for flights to/from Galapagos; shipboard accommodations; kayaking, glass-bottom boat excursions; use of snorkeling gear and wetsuits; Internet/Wi-Fi on the ship; all meals onboard the ship; select soft drinks onboard ship. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:
Airfare and airport taxes; hotel nights before/after cruise; Galapagos National Park entrance fee; Galapagos Transit Card; alcoholic beverages and "virgin" cocktails; gifts and personal items; passport expenses; travel insurance; laundry service; gratuities to ship staff and crew; fuel surcharge may apply.

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands:
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $500-$700 per adult; $350-$450 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!