1 877 412-8527

Galapagos In-Brief

Galapagos Cruise Information

  • Galapagos Legend
  • Expedition Ship
  • 100 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2018, 2019 View Departure>
    • 2018
    • Dec 13 Thu
    • Dec 20 Thu
    • Dec 27 Thu
    • 2019
    • Jan 31 Thu
    • Feb 7 Thu
    • Feb 14 Thu
    • Feb 21 Thu
    • Feb 28 Thu
    • Mar 7 Thu
    • Mar 14 Thu
    • Mar 21 Thu
    • Mar 28 Thu
    • Apr 4 Thu
    • Apr 11 Thu
    • Apr 18 Thu
    • Apr 25 Thu
    • May 2 Thu
    • May 9 Thu
    • May 16 Thu
    • May 23 Thu
    • May 30 Thu
    • Jun 6 Thu
    • Jun 13 Thu
    • Jun 20 Thu
    • Jun 27 Thu
    • Jul 4 Thu
    • Jul 11 Thu
    • Jul 18 Thu
    • Jul 25 Thu
    • Aug 1 Thu
    • Aug 8 Thu
    • Aug 15 Thu
    • Aug 22 Thu
    • Aug 29 Thu
    • Sep 5 Thu
    • Sep 12 Thu
    • Sep 19 Thu
    • Sep 26 Thu
    • Oct 3 Thu
    • Oct 10 Thu
    • Oct 17 Thu
    • Oct 24 Thu
    • Oct 31 Thu
    • Nov 7 Thu
    • Nov 14 Thu
    • Nov 21 Thu
    • Nov 28 Thu
    • Dec 5 Thu
    • Dec 12 Thu
    • Dec 19 Thu
    • Dec 26 Thu
  • Price from
  • $2,215
  • I'm Interested

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly fearless wildlife—from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed booby.

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Prices from
$2,215 to $4,771

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Arrival / Embarkation

When you arrive at the airport, meet your included bus transfer to the port, where you will board the Galapagos Legend.

Day 2 – 4
Discover the Galapagos Islands

Each voyage is unique. Listed below is a sample of the islands you may visit during your expedition:

Santiago Island:
Explore Santiago Island's Sullivan Bay covered by lava flows and interesting geological features formed during the last quarter of the 19th century.

Rábida Island:
Experience Rábida's unique beaches covered in dark red sand. It is considered the epicenter of the Galapagos Islands due to the diversity of its volcanic geology. Find Nesting Brown Pelicans from July through September and nine species of Darwin’s finches. Cruise by Zodiac along cliffs to observe nesting seabirds and snorkel off the coast where marine life is particularly active.

San Cristóbal Island:
Learn about the history of the islands at the Interpretation Center. Enjoy the landscape from a scenic viewpoint and listen for mockingbirds.

Española Island:
Visit Gardner Bay, where you may spot Galapagos hawks, American oyster catchers, Galapagos doves, hood mockingbirds, three species of Darwin finches, yellow warblers, lava lizards, and marine iguanas. Travel to Suarez Point, an important site for sea lion colonies and bird watching, where you will explore volcanic formations. A major highlight is mating season, from May through December.

Isabela Island:
Visit the volcanic ash beach and coral area at Urbina Bay. After a walk, enjoy time for snorkeling. The uplifted coral reef resulted from volcanic activity in 1954. Learn about the eruption of five volcanoes that formed this island on a visit to Tagus Cove. Admire a variety of seabirds, such as blue-footed boobies, brown noddies, terns, flightless cormorant, and a large number of Galapagos penguins (seasonal). You might also visit Vicente Roca Point to enjoy great deep-water snorkeling at one of the richest marine havens on Earth. Be on the lookout for Nazca and blue-footed boobies, brown pelicans, sea turtles, and white-tipped sharks.

Fernandina Island:
See the largest marine iguanas mingling with Sally-light foot crabs as well as flightless cormorant nesting sites at Espinoza Point.

Floreana Island:
Continue the famous tradition of placing unstamped postcards inside the barrel at Post Office Bay. Observe Galapagos mocking birds, Darwin’s finches, yellow warblers, and lava lizards. Visit Cormorant Point, which features endemic plants such as Scalesia villosa, Galapagos daisies, black mangrove, and holy stick.

Santa Cruz Island:
Visit the Highlands of Santa Cruz to observe giant tortoises, lava tubes, and the wet zone Scalesia forest. In the afternoon, spend time at the Charles Darwin Research Station where you can observe giant tortoises that are part of a reproduction program.

Day 5
Disembarkation / Departure

After a morning excursion, disembark the ship and transfer to the airport for your return flight to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes. Read this itinerary as a guide only, as the exact route and the wildlife you encounter may vary.

This trip makes up part of a longer trip. Therefore you may have passengers who have already been on board when you embark, and others that may be staying on board after you disembark.

Shuttle Service:
Included to the airport from the following hotels only
Quito - Patio Andaluz, Swissotel, Quito, Mercure, JW Marriot, Dann Carlton
Guayaquil - Palace, Grand Hotel, Oro Verde, Hilton Colon

Glass Bottom Boat:
Stay dry while experiencing the magic of the Galapagos sub-marine environment. In the company of a naturalist guide you will be taken to the best vantage points for a glimpse into the watery world below. 

Kayaking:
Gaze underwater while paddling in a transparent kayak or paddle in a regular kayak. Each kayak seats two people. All necessary kayak and safety equipment is provided and all kayaking activities are in the company of a naturalist guide.

Snorkeling:
Snorkeling will be offered once or twice per day in the best snorkeling spots of the archipelago. A naturalist guide will always be present and dinghies will remain close at hand for convenience and safety.

Included: 

Shuttle service, transfers, and dinghy rides to/from Galapagos ports are included from select Quito and Guayaquil hotels to the airport when airfare is booked and pre-paid through ExpeditionTrips; shipboard accommodations; baggage handling; glass bottom boat excursions, snorkeling, shore activities and excursions; guide and lecture services; all meals onboard ship; welcome and farewell cocktail; BBQ; 24-hour coffee/tea station. Inclusions subject to change without notice.

Not Included: 
Air ticket between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands; accommodation before/after cruise; transfers in Quito or Guayaquil unless specified above; dinghy rides to/from the ship in Galapagos unless specified above; Galapagos National Park entrance fee; Galapagos Transit Card; items of a personal nature such as laundry, medical services, consumption from the mini-bar located in suites, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages except those mentioned as included; gratuities to ship staff left to passenger's discretion; traveler’s insurance; wet suit rental; kayak rental; Internet; taxes for items/activities onboard; $50 fuel surcharge.

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands:
 
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $500-$700 per adult; $350-$450 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!