1 877 412-8527

Galapagos Classic – Islander

Galapagos Cruise Information

  • National Geographic Islander
  • Expedition Ship
  • 48 Capacity
  • 10 Days
  • 2017, 2018, 2019 View Departure>
    • 2017
    • Dec 16 Sat
    • Dec 23 Sat
    • Dec 30 Sat
    • 2018
    • Jan 6 Sat Offer
    • Jan 13 Sat
    • Jan 20 Sat Offer
    • Jan 27 Sat
    • Feb 3 Sat Offer
    • Feb 10 Sat Offer
    • Feb 17 Sat Offer
    • Feb 24 Sat
    • Mar 3 Sat Offer
    • Mar 10 Sat
    • Mar 17 Sat Offer
    • Mar 24 Sat
    • Mar 31 Sat Offer
    • Apr 7 Sat
    • Apr 14 Sat
    • Apr 21 Sat
    • Apr 28 Sat Offer
    • May 5 Sat Offer
    • May 12 Sat Offer
    • May 19 Sat Offer
    • May 26 Sat Offer
    • Jun 2 Sat Offer
    • Jun 9 Sat
    • Jun 16 Sat
    • Jun 23 Sat
    • Jun 30 Sat
    • Jul 7 Sat
    • Jul 14 Sat
    • Jul 21 Sat
    • Jul 28 Sat
    • Aug 4 Sat
    • Aug 11 Sat
    • Aug 18 Sat
    • Aug 25 Sat Offer
    • Sep 1 Sat Offer
    • Sep 8 Sat Offer
    • Sep 15 Sat Offer
    • Sep 22 Sat Offer
    • Sep 29 Sat Offer
    • Oct 6 Sat Offer
    • Nov 10 Sat
    • Nov 17 Sat Offer
    • Nov 24 Sat Offer
    • Dec 1 Sat Offer
    • Dec 8 Sat Offer
    • Dec 15 Sat Offer
    • Dec 22 Sat
    • Dec 29 Sat
    • 2019
    • Jan 5 Sat Offer
    • Jan 12 Sat Offer
    • Jan 19 Sat Offer
    • Jan 26 Sat Offer
    • Feb 2 Sat Offer
    • Feb 9 Sat Offer
    • Feb 16 Sat Offer
    • Feb 23 Sat Offer
    • Mar 2 Sat Offer
    • Mar 9 Sat Offer
    • Mar 16 Sat Offer
    • Mar 23 Sat Offer
    • Mar 30 Sat Offer
    • Apr 6 Sat Offer
    • Apr 13 Sat Offer
    • Apr 20 Sat Offer
    • May 25 Sat Offer
    • Jun 8 Sat Offer
    • Jun 15 Sat Offer
    • Jun 22 Sat Offer
    • Jun 29 Sat Offer
    • Jul 6 Sat Offer
    • Jul 13 Sat Offer
    • Jul 20 Sat Offer
    • Jul 27 Sat Offer
    • Aug 3 Sat Offer
    • Aug 10 Sat Offer
    • Aug 17 Sat Offer
    • Nov 2 Sat Offer
    • Nov 9 Sat Offer
    • Nov 23 Sat Offer
    • Nov 30 Sat Offer
    • Dec 7 Sat Offer
    • Dec 14 Sat Offer
    • Dec 21 Sat Offer
    • Dec 28 Sat Offer
  • Price from
  • $7,330
  • I'm Interested

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife—from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies.

All departures will have a certified photo instructor onboard.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Photography, Snorkeling, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Just-Released Offer Free International Airfare
2019 Trips for 2018 Rates

View offer details

Free Chronicle: Receive a free video chronicle of your trip, compliments of ExpeditionTrips!

NEW National Geographic Global Explorers kids and teen program

Prices from
$7,330 to $13,070

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
U.S. / Guayaquil, Ecuador

Depart the United States and arrive Guayaquil by late evening. Miami is a convenient gateway for most, but other air alternatives are available. If you choose to take the non-stop group flight from Miami, it departs in the early evening with a flying time of approximately 4 hours. Upon arrival in Guayaquil, it’s a short drive to your hotel.

Day 2
Guayaquil / Galapagos / Embark Ship

This morning fly to the Galapagos. Flying time is approximately 1½ hours; upon arrival immediately board the National Geographic Islander. Over the course of the week, your exact routing depends on the National Park Service.

Meals: B, L, D

Day 3 – 8
Exploring the Galapagos Islands

While your exact routing depends on the Galapagos National Park Service, the following is a representative sample of the islands you may visit during your week on board.

Meals: B, L, D daily

Bartolome
This is an enchanting landscape where lava, mangroves and golden sand converge. Great walks and views abound, with a chance to snorkel with Galapagos penguins.

Santiago
Santiago offers close encounters with Galapagos fur seals along with an opportunity to study the inhabitants of the island’s countless tide pools.

Santa Cruz
Home to the Charles Darwin Research station; learn about the science done here and visit the neighboring captive breeding program for endangered species of Galapagos giant tortoises, run by their partners in conservation, the Galapagos National Park Service.

Isabela
A small black sand beach offers wonderful morning swimming. Enjoy a more challenging hike over rugged shoreline and a shorter walk within an iguana colony. Kayaking and deep water snorkeling opportunities are on offer.

Fernandina
This is the youngest island in the Galapagos and one of the most pristine tropical islands left on earth. Look forward to hikes over relatively recent lava flows, and spot marine iguanas, flightless cormorants, and Sally Lightfoot crabs.

Floreana
Snorkel among sea lions in the clear waters off Champion Islet. You may also find flamingos, pintail ducks and various shorebirds. Hike to a pristine white-sand beach, a favorite nesting site for sea turtles.

Española
The exclusive home to waved albatross (April - December) and particularly colorful marine iguanas, Española is also a paradise for Darwin’s finches, sea lions galore, and the famous blue-footed boobies. Snorkel and stroll along the island’s lovely beaches.

In between the sights and activities throughout the Galapagos, life aboard your expedition ship is rich and varied—marvelous meals to enjoy in a casual ambience. Engaging talks by your Naturalists are part of the daily recap ritual that binds your expedition community and increases the fun. Socializing with staff and fellow guests, or relaxing to one of the ship’s cozy nooks with a good book is always an option.

Day 9
Galapagos / Disembark Ship / Guayaquil

Disembark and fly to Guayaquil. The late afternoon and evening are free to explore the city. Overnight at your hotel.

Meals: B

Day 10
Guayaquil / Home

This morning fly home.

Meals: B

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips.com is not responsible for itinerary changes.

National Geographic Global Explorers: All Departures
Launching in June, kids and teens will develop the mindset of an explorer through a range of cool activities: recording wildlife, plant, and undersea sightings in their Field Notebook, using photos, video, drawing and more to tell a story about the wonders they'll encounter, snorkeling with sea lions, and earning their Zodiac "driver's license!" Plus, National Geographic certified field educators—a brand-new addition to our expedition team—will help optimize Galápagos' daily learning opportunities.

Lindblad-National Geographic Certified Photo Instructor:
On all departures, a certified photo instructor will be at your side and at your service to inspire and assist you. Take advantage of talks, presentations, slideshows and “laptop gallery” sharing events. All skill and interest levels are welcome; the instructors can meet you wherever you are on your journey. All you need to participate is a camera— point-and-shoot, smartphone, DSLR, whatever—and a sense of adventure. And you’re sure to return home with amazing photos.

Optional Pre-Trip Extension: 6 Days
Tropical Andes (Mashpi Lodge) & Colonial Quito: Before your Galapagos adventure, discover the lesser-known wonders of mainland Ecuador on this six-day adventure in the Andes. Explore Quito, a UNESCO World Heritage site, from the comfort of historic Casa Gangotena on Plaza San Francisco. See dazzling colonial churches and bustling traditional local markets. Then immerse yourself in the heart of the Ecuadorian Chocó, one of the world’s top five biodiversity hotspots, at Mashpi Lodge. From $2,190 per person (2017) and from $2,390 per person (2018). Contact ExpeditionTrips for details.

Included:
Shipboard accommodations; two nights hotel in Guayaquil as per itinerary; meals and non-alcoholic drinks (coffee, tea, water, soda) aboard the vessel; Galapagos National Park entry fee; transfers to/from group flight; gratuities (except to ship's crew); Galapagos Transit Card; use of snorkeling equipment, wetsuits and kayaks; services of the ship physician, Expedition Leader, Naturalist staff and expert guides; port charges and service taxes. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:
Airfare; meals not indicated as included; optional extensions; passport and visa expenses; baggage/accident/cancellation insurance; items of a personal nature, such as laundry, alcoholic beverages and Internet/Wi-Fi; gratuities to ship's crew; travel health insurance (required to enter Ecuador); fuel surcharge may apply.  

Airfare between Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands:
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. For your cruise security, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $500-$700 per adult; $300-$450 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).

Photo Credit: © Sven-Olof Lindblad (Rays); © Michael S. Nolan (Iguanas, Tortoise, Sea Lions, Red-footed Booby, Kayak); © Ralph Lee Hopkins (Crab); © Lindblad Expeditions (Frigatebird, Blue-footed Booby)

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!