1 877 412-8527

Upper Amazon Adventure

Amazon River Cruise

  • Delfin II (charter)
  • River Boat
  • 28 Capacity
  • 10 Days
  • 2019, 2020, 2021 View Departure>
    • 2019
    • Oct 26 Sat
    • Nov 2 Sat
    • Nov 9 Sat Offer
    • Nov 30 Sat Offer
    • Dec 7 Sat Offer
    • Dec 14 Sat Offer
    • 2020
    • Jan 4 Sat
    • Jan 11 Sat
    • Jan 18 Sat
    • Feb 1 Sat
    • Feb 8 Sat
    • Mar 7 Sat
    • Mar 14 Sat
    • Mar 21 Sat
    • Mar 28 Sat
    • May 9 Sat
    • May 16 Sat
    • May 30 Sat
    • Jun 6 Sat
    • Jun 13 Sat
    • Jun 20 Sat
    • Jul 4 Sat
    • Jul 11 Sat
    • Jul 18 Sat
    • Sep 19 Sat
    • Sep 26 Sat
    • Oct 3 Sat
    • Nov 7 Sat
    • Nov 14 Sat
    • Dec 12 Sat
    • Dec 19 Sat
    • 2021
    • Jan 16 Sat
    • Jan 23 Sat
    • Jan 30 Sat
    • Feb 6 Sat
    • Mar 6 Sat
    • Mar 13 Sat
    • Mar 20 Sat
    • Mar 27 Sat
    • May 1 Sat
    • May 15 Sat
    • May 29 Sat
    • Jun 5 Sat
    • Jun 12 Sat
    • Jun 19 Sat
    • Jul 3 Sat
    • Jul 10 Sat
    • Jul 24 Sat
    • Jul 31 Sat
    • Aug 7 Sat
    • Aug 14 Sat
    • Oct 30 Sat
    • Nov 6 Sat
    • Dec 25 Sat
  • Price from
  • $7,290
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Explore with veteran expedition leaders and local guides indigenous to the region. Enjoy motorized skiff outings for either a landing to walk in the rainforest among towering tropical trees or to cruise into remote tributaries. Three-toed sloths, piranhas, squirrel monkeys, tamarins, and white-throated toucans. The tell-tale snort of a pink river dolphin makes all eyes turn to see it glide through mysterious tannin-rich waters. You may see hundreds of birds roosting and feeding along the riverbanks. The wildlife of Amazon is remarkable in its abundance and staggering diversity. Each day you will set out in search of new creatures in this unique habitat.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking, Photography

PRICING

Just-Released Offer

  • Combine with select Galapagos and/or Machu Picchu trips, and save 10% off
  • Offers may not be combinable; conditions may apply

View offer details

Prices from
$7,290 to $9,760

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
U.S. / Lima, Peru

Arrive in Lima in the late evening and transfer to your conveniently located hotel, Wyndham Costa del Sol Lima Airport Hotel.

Day 2
Lima / Iquitos / Nauta / Embark

After breakfast, fly to Iquitos and continue overland to the riverside village of Nauta, where the Delfin II awaits. Settle into your cabin, and gather for a welcome dinner of fine Peruvian cuisine on board. Tonight, step out on deck to gaze at the magnificent Amazon night sky.

Day 3 – 8
Exploring the Pacaya-Samiria Reserve

Spend this week exploring the Pacaya- Samiria National Reserve, a pristine swath of jungle—stretching more than five million acres, and harboring some of the Amazon’s most fascinating flora and fauna. Bordered by the Marañón and the Ucayali, these two powerful rivers converge to create the famed Amazon, which floods annually with nutrient-rich waters and is known locally as the Mirrored Forest for the reflections created by its glassy water.

Set out into this remarkable wilderness on daily excursions by skiff, kayak, and, when the water level permits, hikes on dry land. Skim past giant lily pads afloat on black-water lakes, and venture deep into the rain forest on narrow tributaries. Spot sloths and monkeys, including variably colored saddleback tamarins, noisy howlers, and shaggy-tailed monk saki monkeys. Watch for an astounding variety of birds, from tanagers and hummingbirds to parrots and endangered scarlet macaws. In the river, look for massive paiche fish, the Amazon’s largest; rare pink dolphins; and the infamous piranhas.

Enjoy an opportunity to swim in a lake in the reserve’s interior. Seek out Victoria Amazonica, a giant water lily that grows in small lagoons. Go on a bird-watching hike, listening for the vocal oropendola and then looking for its telltale yellow tail. Watch the sun set and listen to a cacophonous symphony of nocturnal animals calling out across the treetops. Then slip through the forest in a skiff as night falls, using a spotlight to find caimans, frogs, fishing bats and other creatures of the night.

One of the unexpected joys of traveling in the Upper Amazon of Peru is the interaction you can have with the local ribereños, the traditional people who live on the riverbanks. Visit one of the local communities and see the projects that is support through a local non-profit, including a variety of handcrafts, women's health initiatives and sustainable farming.

Day 9
Nauta / Disembark / Iquitos / Lima, Peru

Disembark in Nauta, stopping at the Amazon Rescue Center on the drive to Iquitos. Fly to Lima, where you will visit Museo Larco and celebrate with a farewell dinner. Overnight at the Wyndham Costa del Sol Lima Airport Hotel.

Day 10
Lima, Peru / U.S.

After breakfast, transfer to the airport in Lima for your flight home.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Included:
Transfers between airport and ship if booked on group flights; shipboard accommodations; kayaking; certified photo instructor; gear on loan (ponchos, rubber boots); all meals onboard ship. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:
Airfare; travel insurance; passport and visa fees; items of a personal nature such as alcoholic beverages and laundry; gratuities to ship’s crew at your discretion; fuel surcharge may apply.

Photos ©: Alexandra Daley-Clark (Kids); Ralph Lee Hopkins (Lizard, Hoatzin Birds, Village, Ship Sunset, Lily Pad); Richard Maack (Sloth); Cindy Manning (Skiff with Travelers); Michael S Nolan (frog); David Vargas (Jungle)

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!