1 877 412-8527

Heart of the Amazon

Amazon River Cruise Information

  • Tucano
  • River Boat
  • 18 Capacity
  • 7 Days
  • 2020, 2021 View Departure>
    • 2020
    • Apr 18 Sat
    • Apr 27 Mon
    • May 2 Sat
    • May 16 Sat
    • May 30 Sat
    • Jun 13 Sat
    • Jun 27 Sat
    • Jul 11 Sat
    • Jul 25 Sat
    • Aug 8 Sat
    • Aug 22 Sat
    • Sep 19 Sat
    • Oct 3 Sat
    • Oct 17 Sat
    • Oct 31 Sat
    • Nov 14 Sat
    • Dec 5 Sat
    • Dec 19 Sat
    • 2021
    • Jan 9 Sat
    • Jan 23 Sat
    • Feb 6 Sat
    • Feb 20 Sat
    • Mar 6 Sat
    • Apr 3 Sat
    • Apr 17 Sat
    • May 1 Sat
    • May 15 Sat
    • May 29 Sat
    • Jun 12 Sat
    • Jun 26 Sat
    • Jul 10 Sat
    • Jul 24 Sat
    • Aug 7 Sat
    • Aug 21 Sat
    • Sep 18 Sat
    • Oct 2 Sat
    • Oct 16 Sat
    • Oct 30 Sat
    • Nov 13 Sat
    • Dec 4 Sat
    • Dec 22 Wed
  • Price from
  • $3,150
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Embark a nimble, comfortable, eco-friendly ship and venture deep into the Amazon rainforest along the Rio Negro, where magnificent plants and animals reign supreme. Scout for a variety of creatures, including monkeys, parrots, toucans, sloths, and pink dolphins. Far off the beaten path, visit small villages where the rhythms of life are tuned to the cycles of the wilderness. Choose how you'd like to experience the Amazon, from a leisurely expedition pace to rigorous deep forest hikes or kayak explorations in remote rainforest streams with keen observations from skilled naturalist guides—or simply relax and enjoy the view from the ship. Explore some of the least inhabited places on the planet, exploring the far reaches of Central Amazon's Ecological Corridor.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking, Dedicated Solo Cabins, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Prices from
$3,150 to $4,665

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Manaus, Brazil

In the morning, embark the vessel in Manaus and sail upstream on the Rio Negro. Cruise through the world’s largest river island system, the Anavilhanas Archipelago. From the observation deck, scan for wildlife in the magnificent, lush vegetation at the water’s edge. By mid-afternoon the vessel will enter a wilderness area beyond the frontier of settlement. Experience shores covered by dense rainforest, scout for pink river dolphins, and keep an eye out for a variety of exotic birds. In the late afternoon, embark skiffs and search for wildlife. Swimming is also a possibility.

Day 2
Rio Negro – Lago Turia

Early in the morning, explore the rainforest along the water's edge in skiffs. Listen and watch for howler monkeys along with a morning serenade of toucans. After breakfast, go for a walk in the forest and begin to learn about Amazon ecology. Around midday, return for lunch. The vessel will get underway, perhaps stopping at a place to swim. In the late afternoon, explore the forest and listen
to the sunset chorus of birds, frogs, and howler monkeys.

Day 3
Rio Negro – Lago Burti

Explore the waking forest and observe its early morning sights and sounds. Keep your eyes open for sloths. After breakfast, choose a walk in the forest or an excursion aboard the skiffs to experience more of the rainforest. Later, from the vessel, enjoy a night sky crowded with stars.

Day 4
Rio Jauaperi

After morning excursions, cruise along the heavily-forested shore and scout for wildlife. You may stop for a visit at a settler’s home carved out of the forest. In the early afternoon, you will be near an extraordinary river called the Rio Jauaperi. Scout along its shoreline for amazing creatures found in this unique environment, such as the three-toed sloth. Weather permitting, partake in a night excursion to observe nocturnal creatures.

Day 5
Rio Negro – West Bank

Voyage to the west side of the Rio Negro and continue to scout by skiff and on forest walks. As the weather and water depth allow, explore areas rarely visited by anyone else. Depart downstream and enter an east bank tributary of the Rio Negro to explore deep into the rainforest on this small river. After a nocturnal exploration of the rainforest by skiff, return to the ship for “Caipirinha Night” (the national drink of Brazil)—and perhaps try a bit of samba on the top deck.

Day 6
Encontra das Aguas

Begin the day with a dawn excursion, searching for wakening wildlife followed by a full Brazilian breakfast. You will then have the option to visit the forest one last time before the end of your trip. In the mid-afternoon the ship will begin its journey downstream. Late in the day, you'll arrive at the “Encontro das Aguas,” a stark, several-mile-long line where two of the world’s largest rivers, the Amazon and the Rio Negro, join in a turbulent maelstrom. Here, the dark water of the Rio Negro runs beside the opaque brown water of the Amazon. At sunset the Tucano will once again turn her bows upstream on the Rio Negro and journey to overnight anchorage north of the City of Manaus. As you pass in front of Manaus, marvel at the scale of one of the world’s most vibrant port cities, over a thousand miles from the sea. Tonight enjoy a farewell dinner and prepare for an early departure in the morning.

Day 7
Manaus, Brazil

Early in the morning, after a hearty breakfast, disembark the ship.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions—and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Kayaking:
Quietly paddle in a sit-on-top kayak in one of the most remote wildernesses on earth. Excursions depend on water and weather conditions. Guides will help both novice and experienced paddlers safely enjoy this extraordinary rainforest experience.

City Tour (Optional):

This three-hour tour of Manaus is available at the end of the cruise. It includes the bustling Mercado Municipal of Manaus, the Teatro Amazonas—the famed opera house of the Amazon, and the historical Praça Dom Pedro II. Included are the services of a bilingual guide, entrance fees, and transportation to and from the Hotel Tropical. Please note that most museums are closed on Sundays and Holidays.

Included:

Shipboard accommodations; guided excursions; fishing; kayaking; straw hat; reusable water bottle; all meals onboard the ship; water. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:

Airfare; airport transfers; optional post-cruise city tour; departure taxes; passport and visa fees; items of a personal nature; soft drinks; alcoholic beverages; gratuities; fuel surcharge may apply.


Photos: © Amazon Nature Tours

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!