1 877 412-8527

Amazon Explorer – High Water Season

Amazon River Cruise Information

  • Aria Amazon
  • River Boat
  • 32 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2020, 2021 View Departure>
    • 2020
    • Apr 6 Mon Offer
    • Apr 13 Mon Offer
    • Apr 20 Mon Offer
    • Apr 27 Mon Offer
    • May 4 Mon Offer
    • May 11 Mon Offer
    • May 18 Mon Offer
    • May 25 Mon Offer
    • Nov 2 Mon Offer
    • Nov 9 Mon Offer
    • Nov 16 Mon Offer
    • Nov 23 Mon Offer
    • Nov 30 Mon Offer
    • Dec 7 Mon Offer
    • Dec 14 Mon Offer
    • Dec 21 Mon Offer
    • Dec 28 Mon Offer
    • 2021
    • Jan 4 Mon
    • Jan 11 Mon
    • Jan 18 Mon
    • Jan 25 Mon
    • Mar 1 Mon
    • Mar 8 Mon
    • Mar 15 Mon
    • Mar 22 Mon
    • Mar 29 Mon
    • Apr 5 Mon
    • Apr 12 Mon
    • Apr 19 Mon
    • Apr 26 Mon
    • May 3 Mon
    • May 10 Mon
    • May 17 Mon
    • May 24 Mon
    • May 31 Mon
    • Nov 1 Mon
    • Nov 8 Mon
    • Nov 15 Mon
    • Nov 22 Mon
    • Nov 29 Mon
    • Dec 6 Mon
    • Dec 13 Mon
    • Dec 20 Mon
    • Dec 27 Mon
  • Price from
  • $4,700
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Experience the diverse environments of the Amazon and enjoy incredible scenery aboard a luxurious riverboat during the high water season. This itinerary manages to fit major highlights of the Peruvian Amazon and the Pacaya-Samiria National Reserve in an action-packed itinerary. Go piranha fishing, trek into the dense jungle with experienced guides in search of wildlife such as Amazon monkeys, three-toed sloths, hoatzins, toucans, and macaws, and unravel the mystery of giant water lilies. This journey focuses on the Ucayali tributary, where wildlife feeding and nesting grounds are aplenty.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking

PRICING

Just-Released Offer Solo travelers pay no single supplement

View offer details

Prices from
$4,700 to $5,600

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Iquitos / Nauta / Embarkation / Amazon River

Meet your group at the Iquitos International Airport then journey by air-conditioned vehicle through the Peruvian countryside to arrive at Nauta Lounge in time for lunch (or you will be served a box lunch en route, depending on the flight arrival time). In the afternoon, set off on your first skiff excursion to visit the birthplace of the Amazon.

At 6:00 p.m., embark the ship and settle into your suite as you begin one of life’s greatest adventures. Following a routine safety drill and introduction to your naturalist guides, gather for innovative Amazonian cuisine created by Executive Chef Pedro Miguel Schiaffino, whose restaurant, Malabar, is the one of Lima’s top-ranked dining experiences.

Day 2
Yanallpa River / Dorado River

Explore the black waters of the Yanallpa River by skiff, disembarking to walk deep into the Amazonian rain forest. Later, board the skiffs again to cruise along the El Dorado River for a dusk excursion in search of exotic nocturnal wildlife and enjoy extraordinary stargazing.

Day 3
Pacaya River / Ucayali River / Tapiche River

The rewards of an early start today are plentiful, including a full day excursion by skiff along the Pacaya River, going deeper into pristine landscape shared with great egret, capuchin monkeys, and taricaya turtles. After lunch, attend a paiche fishing demonstration, the second largest river fish in the world. Later, venture out by skiffs on the Ucayali River alongside the banana boats transporting their jungle products to the port of Requena, keeping an eye out for pink river dolphins.

Day 4
Clavero or Yarapa River / Amazon River

Choose to go jungle walking, canoeing, kayaking or swimming on the black water Yarapa or Clavero River in the morning. Visit a remote Amazonia village in the afternoon. This evening before dinner, gather to meet some of the crew members whom you may not have met, working 'behind the scenes' to ensure your countless exceptional experiences aboard the Aria Amazon.

Day 5
Iquitos / Manatee Rescue Center / Transfer to the Airport

At the Bellavista Nanay morning market along the Nanay River, sample exotic snacks from the Peruvian Amazon like 'Suri'—Amazon caterpillars that are considered especially appetizing. Return to the ship for breakfast and packing. Before saying goodbye, you will make one last memorable stop at the Manatee Rescue Center, a special kind of animal orphanage for Amazonian manatees. You will also visit San Juan craft market en route to the airport.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions – and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

What to Expect in High Water Season:
The Peruvian Amazon has essentially two seasons: a high water season (Nov through May) and a low water season (Jun through Oct). Whichever season you choose, you will see spectacular wildlife and plant life. The key highlight of high water season is the dramatic panorama of the flooded forest—the Amazon Basin's rivers and streams are approximately 23-feet higher than in low water season and more easily explored by boat than on foot. Flooded waterways may put travelers closer to a kaleidoscope of endemic monkeys and bird species; however, most species can be spotted throughout the year. The average temperature is slightly cooler (around 86 degrees Fahrenheit). On the flip side, areas to walk and hike are sometimes limited, mosquitoes become more prevalent (especially on jungle trails), and fishing requires more patience.

Included:
Group transfers to/from vessel when arriving/departing on recommended flights; shipboard accommodations; Pacaya Samiria National Reserve entrance fee; all excursions; use of bicycles; all meals onboard the ship; beverages (non-alcoholic, select premium wines, and national beer). Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:
Airfare to/from Iquitos; private transfers to/from vessel; travel insurance (highly recommended); departure taxes; visa and passport fees; items of a personal nature such as boutique purchases and spa services; guide and crew gratuities; fuel surcharge may apply.


Photos: © Aqua Expeditions

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!