1 877 412-8527

Amazon Explorer – Low Water Season

Amazon River Cruise Information

  • Aria Amazon
  • River Boat
  • 32 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2018, 2019 View Departure>
    • 2018
    • Jun 4 Mon
    • Jun 11 Mon
    • Jun 18 Mon
    • Jun 25 Mon
    • Jul 2 Mon
    • Jul 9 Mon
    • Jul 16 Mon
    • Jul 23 Mon
    • Jul 30 Mon
    • Aug 6 Mon
    • Aug 13 Mon
    • Aug 20 Mon
    • Aug 27 Mon
    • Sep 3 Mon
    • Sep 10 Mon
    • Sep 17 Mon
    • Sep 24 Mon
    • Oct 1 Mon
    • Oct 8 Mon
    • Oct 15 Mon
    • Oct 22 Mon
    • Oct 29 Mon
    • 2019
    • Jul 1 Mon
    • Jul 8 Mon
    • Jul 15 Mon
    • Jul 22 Mon
    • Jul 29 Mon
    • Aug 5 Mon
    • Aug 12 Mon
    • Aug 19 Mon
    • Aug 26 Mon
    • Sep 2 Mon
    • Sep 9 Mon
    • Sep 16 Mon
    • Sep 23 Mon
    • Sep 30 Mon
    • Oct 7 Mon
    • Oct 14 Mon
    • Oct 21 Mon
    • Oct 28 Mon
  • Price from
  • $4,860
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Experience the diverse environments of the Amazon aboard a luxurious riverboat during the high water season. Fish for piranhas in hidden black water lakes. Explore the jungle and venture into the Amazon wilderness to see the unparalleld diversity of life and meet indigenous people. Observe monkeys, toucans, caimans, iguanas, sloths and possibly dolphins during expeditions with highly knowledgeable naturalist guides. Enjoy incredible scenery on one of the most luxurious and exciting journeys to the Amazon.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Prices from
$4,860 to $5,600

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Iquitos / Nauta / Embarkation / Maranon River

Today you will meet at Iquitos International Airport then journey with your group by air-conditioned vehicle through the Peruvian countryside to Nauta Lounge in time for lunch, or you will be served a box lunch en route depending on the flight arrival time. In the afternoon, you will set off on your first skiff excursion to visit the birthplace of the Amazon. At 6:00 pm, you will board the Aria Amazon. Settle into your generously proportioned suite as you begin one of life’s greatest adventures. Following a routine safety drill and introduction to your naturalist guides, gather for innovative Amazonian cuisine created by Executive Chef Pedro Miguel Schiaffino, whose restaurant, Malabar, is the one of Lima’s top ranked dining experiences.

Day 2
Ucayali River / Pacaya River

Boarding your skiffs, start the day like Amazon River dwellers, cruising along the Ucayali River. As these farmers and fishermen go about their business, search for pink river dolphins in these pristine waters. Later in the day, you will return to the skiffs, to ride along the black waters of the Pacaya River at dusk, searching for the mysterious wildlife that come out after dark and with extraordinary stargazing.

Day 3
Pacaya River / Ucayali River / Tapiche River

The rewards of an early start today are plentiful, including a breakfast picnic accompanied by jungle symphony and fishing along the black waters of the Pacaya River. After lunch, venture out by skiffs on the Ucayali River alongside the banana boats transporting jungle products to the port of Requena, keeping an eye out for pink river dolphins.

Day 4
Marañon River / Tahuayo / Amazon River

Choose to go jungle walking, canoeing, kayaking, or swimming on the black water Yarapa or Clavero River in the morning. In the afternoon, take a short jungle walk in the San Jose flooded forest and see the unforgettable giant water lilies. This evening before dinner, gather to meet some of the crew members who work 'behind the scenes' to ensure your countless exceptional experiences aboard the Aria Amazon.

Day 5
Iquitos / Disembark / City Tour

This morning, you will visit the local fresh market with your guides who can identify the day’s catch by the fishermen of Amazonia and the region’s exotic fruits. Return to the Aria Amazon for breakfast and to pack up. Before saying goodbye, you will visit the Manatee Rescue Center, a kind of animal orphanage for Amazonian manatees to rescue, rehabilitate, and release them back into the wild. You will also visit San Juan craft market on route to the airport. Lunch or box lunch is included, depending on the exact departure flight time, which can vary. Other activities may be included as well, according to the flight schedule.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions—and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition.

What to Expect in Low Water Season:

The Amazon River in Peru has essentially two seasons: a high water season (Nov through May) and a low water season (Jun through Oct). Whichever season you choose, you will see spectacular wildlife and plant life. During the low water season, trails and jungle paths flooded from December to May are now easily accessible, allowing groups to explore deep in the jungle by foot. Fishing is at its best, and you will have the chance to see dozens of species of migratory birds in flight, something you would completely miss during the high water season. Lower water levels on the Amazon River and its tributaries make many of the creeks and lakes inaccessible, and temperatures average about 98 degrees Fahrenheit.

Included:

Group transfers to/from vessel when arriving and departing on recommended flights; cabin accommodations and meals aboard the ship; bike use; excursions; non-alcoholic beverages plus select wine and beer only; Pacaya Samiria entrance fee. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:

Airfare to and from Iquitos; private transfers; travel insurance; departure taxes; visa fees if applicable; items of a personal nature such as boutique purchases and spa services; guide and crew gratuities; fuel surcharge may apply.

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!