1 877 412-8527

Amazon Discovery – Low Water Season

Amazon River Cruise Information

  • Aria Amazon
  • River Boat
  • 32 Capacity
  • 4 Days
  • 2020, 2021 View Departure>
    • 2020
    • Jun 19 Fri Offer
    • Jun 26 Fri Offer
    • Jul 3 Fri Offer
    • Jul 10 Fri Offer
    • Jul 17 Fri Offer
    • Jul 24 Fri Offer
    • Jul 31 Fri Offer
    • Aug 7 Fri Offer
    • Aug 14 Fri Offer
    • Aug 21 Fri Offer
    • Aug 28 Fri Offer
    • Sep 4 Fri Offer
    • Sep 11 Fri Offer
    • Sep 18 Fri Offer
    • Sep 25 Fri Offer
    • Oct 2 Fri Offer
    • Oct 9 Fri Offer
    • Oct 16 Fri Offer
    • Oct 23 Fri Offer
    • Oct 30 Fri Offer
    • 2021
    • Jun 4 Fri
    • Jun 11 Fri
    • Jun 18 Fri
    • Jun 25 Fri
    • Jul 2 Fri
    • Jul 9 Fri
    • Jul 16 Fri
    • Jul 23 Fri
    • Jul 30 Fri
    • Aug 6 Fri
    • Aug 13 Fri
    • Aug 20 Fri
    • Aug 27 Fri
    • Sep 3 Fri
    • Sep 10 Fri
    • Sep 17 Fri
    • Sep 24 Fri
    • Oct 1 Fri
    • Oct 8 Fri
    • Oct 15 Fri
    • Oct 22 Fri
    • Oct 29 Fri
  • Price from
  • $3,525
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Embark a luxurious riverboat and make the most of your Amazon rainforest adventure. This trip offers many opportunities to observe incredible creatures, relax, and enjoy activities like hiking, kayaking or swimming. Fish for piranha, dolphin watch, or search for Amazon monkeys, three-toed sloths, crown headed hoatzin birds, toucans, macaws, and giant water lilies. Travel deep into the jungles and waterways of northern Peru, spotting wildlife and learning about the Amazon rainforest's ecosystems, diverse wildlife, and birds of the Pacaya-Samiria National Reserve from experienced naturalist guides.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking

PRICING

Just-Released Offer Solo travelers pay no single supplement

View offer details

Prices from
$3,525 to $4,200

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Iquitos / Nauta / Embarkation / Marañon River

Meet your group at the Iquitos International Airport then journey by air-conditioned vehicle through the Peruvian countryside to arrive at Nauta Lounge in time for lunch (or you will be served a box lunch en route, depending on the flight arrival time). In the afternoon, set off on your first skiff excursion to visit the birthplace of the Amazon.

At 6:00 p.m., embark the ship and settle into your suite as you begin one of life’s greatest adventures. Following a routine safety drill and introduction to your naturalist guides, gather for innovative Amazonian cuisine created by Executive Chef Pedro Miguel Schiaffino, whose restaurant, Malabar, is the one of Lima’s top-ranked dining experiences.

Day 2
Yanayacu Pucate River / Marañon River

Commence today’s adventures near the main entrance of Pacaya Samiria National Reserve, cruising along Yanayacu Pucate in a skiff. Kayak, canoe, and swim in these unspoiled black waters, keeping your eyes peeled for the Amazon’s legendary pink dolphins. In the afternoon, visit a remote village along the Marañon River to learn about traditional customs. Later, focus a hi-tech telescope on the night sky to identify the planets and constellations.

Day 3
Samiria River / Nauta Caño or PNA (Amazonian Natural Park)

Set off by skiff for an excursion along the Samiria River with optional fishing. Attend an after-lunch flora and fauna lecture, then venture out for a thrilling jungle walk across the high Amazon rainforest.

Upon return in the evening, enjoy the sounds of the jungle and extraordinary stargazing on local boats along the 'Enchanted Lake.' Before dinner, gather to meet some of the crew members whom you may not have met, working "behind the scenes" to ensure your countless exceptional experiences aboard the Aria Amazon.

Day 4
Nauta Town / Manatee Rescue Center / Transfer to the Airport

This morning, visit the local fresh market with guides who can identify the day’s catch and the region’s exotic fruits. Return to the ship for breakfast and packing. Before saying goodbye, visit the Manatee Rescue Center, which rescues, rehabilitates, and releases Amazonian manatees back into the wild. You will also visit San Juan craft market en route to the airport.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions—and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

What to Expect in Low Water Season:

The Amazon River in Peru has essentially two seasons; a high water season (Nov through May) and a low water season (Jun through Oct). Whichever season you choose, you will see spectacular wildlife and plant life. In the low water season, many of the trails and jungle paths that are otherwise submerged in the high water season are easily accessible, providing more opportunities to experience the Amazon rainforest on foot. The low water season typically sees less mosquitoes and temperatures average about 98 degrees Fahrenheit. Significantly lower water levels mean that some creeks and lakes otherwise accessible by skiff during the flooded season are out of reach by boat. During low water months, fishing is ideal as aquatic populations are confined to a few key areas. For example, it’s far easier to land a piranha! For birdwatchers, dozens of species of migratory birds are in flight in the Peruvian Amazon during the low water months. Regardless of low or high water seasons, exposed mud banks tend to attract large numbers of colorful macaws, who feed on clay to neutralize toxins from the food they ingest in the forest.

Included:
Group transfers to/from vessel when arriving/departing on recommended flights; shipboard accommodations; Pacaya Samiria National Reserve entrance fee; all excursions; use of bicycles; all meals onboard the ship; beverages (non-alcoholic, select premium wines, and national beer). Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:
Airfare to/from Iquitos; private transfers to/from vessel; travel insurance (highly recommended); departure taxes; visa and passport fees; items of a personal nature such as boutique purchases and spa services; guide and crew gratuities; fuel surcharge may apply.


Photos: © Aqua Expeditions

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!