1 877 412-8527

Amazon In-Depth

Amazon Cruise Information

  • Anakonda
  • Motor Yacht
  • 40 Capacity
  • 8 Days
  • 2017, 2018 View Departure>
    • 2017
    • Dec 20 Wed
    • Dec 27 Wed
    • 2018
    • Jan 3 Wed
    • Jan 10 Wed
    • Jan 17 Wed
    • Jan 24 Wed
    • Jan 31 Wed
    • Feb 7 Wed
    • Feb 14 Wed
    • Feb 21 Wed
    • Feb 28 Wed
    • Mar 7 Wed
    • Mar 14 Wed
    • Mar 21 Wed
    • Mar 28 Wed
    • Apr 4 Wed
    • Apr 11 Wed
    • Apr 18 Wed
    • Apr 25 Wed
    • May 2 Wed
    • May 9 Wed
    • May 16 Wed
    • May 23 Wed
    • May 30 Wed
    • Jun 6 Wed
    • Jun 13 Wed
    • Jun 20 Wed
    • Jun 27 Wed
    • Jul 4 Wed
    • Jul 11 Wed
    • Jul 18 Wed
    • Jul 25 Wed
    • Aug 1 Wed
    • Aug 8 Wed
    • Aug 15 Wed
    • Aug 22 Wed
    • Aug 29 Wed
    • Sep 5 Wed
    • Sep 12 Wed
    • Sep 19 Wed
    • Sep 26 Wed
    • Oct 3 Wed
    • Oct 10 Wed
    • Oct 17 Wed
    • Oct 24 Wed
    • Oct 31 Wed
    • Nov 7 Wed
    • Nov 14 Wed
    • Nov 21 Wed
    • Nov 28 Wed
    • Dec 5 Wed
    • Dec 12 Wed
    • Dec 19 Wed
    • Dec 26 Wed
  • Price from
  • $4,390
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Journey into the endless heart of biodiversity, which extends its fabulous prism of life throughout the Amazon Basin. The very nature of this jungle realm teaches you that the best way to explore is through a unique means of transportation: by navigating down the river on a fabulous, state-of-the-art vessel set to explore this truly unique environment. This inspiring adventure will provide many unexpected, astonishing encounters. Discover the Yasuní (the largest of Ecuador’s continental National Parks), a wild and untamed realm in the heart of the Ecuadorian Rainforest. Climb observation towers to enjoy unique perspectives of the forest and explore black water rivers escorted by otters and turtles. Hike trails learning about the wonderful flora that makes up the eternal green of the Ecuadorian Amazonia.

Activities : Birding, Camping, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking, Dedicated Solo Cabins, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Prices from
$4,390 to $5,487

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Quito / Coca / Napo River

Depart from Quito. Enjoy a short 30-minute flight that will take you to the frontier town of Coca (Francisco de Orellana) where you will meet your transfer to the dock then embark on a motorized canoe and navigate down river about 1 hour, to board the M/V Anakonda. Throughout the journey you will have a chance to admire the rainforest landscape and banks of the great Napo River.

Immediately after boarding the M/V Anakonda, you will continue navigating downstream. Passengers will have their first opportunities to enjoy the exciting features of our cruise ship: the spacious social areas, comfortable suites, and an observation deck that offers spectacular views. Set out on an evening walk after sunset; giving you the opportunity to discover the forest’s nocturnal activity and listen to the incessant sounds of nature.

Day 2
Yasuni National Park

After a delicious breakfast, disembark on land for your first daylight close-and-personal tropical rainforest experience, where you will learn about the relationship between plants and animals while closely watching out for samples of Amazonia’s fascinating biodiversity at every turn.

After lunch, the M/V Anakonda navigates to one of the most pristine and little explored sections of Ecuadorian Amazonia, home to the legendary pink river dolphin, black caiman and anaconda. We may also find river turtles and various species of monkeys, as well as the primitive Hoatzin, a one-of-a-kind bird locally known as 'the Stinky Turkey'. The only way to actually visit this flooded ecosystem is by canoe, a ride that will reveal the beauty of a lush jungle world.

Day 3
Napo River

Enjoy breakfast on board. Visit a school located on the banks of the Napo River, where you will have the opportunity to interact with children of the area and learn about the educational system of a remote jungle community in Ecuador.

Return on board the M/V Anakonda for lunch and a moment to relax while you navigate upstream. Join a lecture and documentary screening, and if time permits, learn about (and make) typical handicrafts of the area. In the afternoon, explore one of the largest river islands of the Napo River.

Day 4
Sani Warmi / Yasuni National Park

After breakfast on board, you will have a chance to witness an astonishing natural phenomenon as we set out to visit one of the most amazing spectacles located on this side of the western Amazonia, commonly known as Parrot Clay Licks. These unique pools of mud are rich in minerals and attract hundreds of parrots, parakeets and Amazon birds every day.

Later you will visit the Sani Warmi Kichwa Interpretation Center, where a group of Kichwa women will speak and share about their customs, cuisine, and daily life. Kichwa women created the center in order to showcase their culture. The visit to the Sani Warmi community is a unique opportunity to learn about Amazonian lifestyle along the Napo River. You will also have the opportunity to buy handmade crafts, local products and souvenirs.
Afterwards, you will enjoy lunch on board, as you navigate to Puerto Pedro. Weather permitting and as an optional excursion, you could make a short stop at the Yakukawsay Kichwa Interpretation Center before sunset.

Day 5
Indillama / Yasuni National Park

Today you have the option to kayak through one of the Napo River’s effluents that goes into the Yasuni National Park, the Indillama River. This is a fabulous excursion for wildlife observation. Kayaks are great silent vehicles to flow down river. Or you can choose to go in a canoe ride in search of more wildlife through the Napo River. It’s up to you!

Day 6
Pañayacu River

One of the most pristine black-water systems of the Amazon Basin is home to legendary pink river dolphins, black caimans and the enigmatic Amazonian anaconda.

You will then continue your navigation downstream to the Pañayacu River delta; take a canoe trip up the river to experience the sights of this fascinating reserve. Seek out pink river dolphins, common squirrel monkeys, and much more. Black water lakes are ecosystems previously flooded by white waters. The rivers and lakes here are the perfect habitat for the infamous piranha, as well as the water monkey fish (Arawana) and white caiman. After a refreshing swim (for the courageous!), enjoy a delicious Amazon-style BBQ meal and refreshing beverages at a nearby camping site. In the afternoon, you will head out on exploration trails, and return onboard for dinner.

Day 7
Limoncocha Biological Reserve

Today you will visit the Añangu Tower, which offers great photograph opportunities after climbing a ceibo tree in order to enjoy an astonishing view of the Amazon from this wooden tower. This is a great opportunity to do bird watching activities.

Weather permitting and as an optional excursion, a visit to the Yakukawsay Kichwa Interpretation Center, and end with an interesting evening walk through the forest (depending on accessibility, river water levels). Your trip into Ecuadorian Amazon ends here. Now you will begin your trip back to Itaya. During your last night in the Ecuadorian Amazon enjoy a farewell cocktail with the crew and a great dinner.

Day 8
Coca / Quito

In the morning, disembark your ship and transfer by motorized canoe to Coca, where you will catch your flight to Quito.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions—and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition.

Glamping
(Optional):
Enjoy camping in luxury on comfortable beds in fully sealed, above ground tents. The glamping experience includes a kayak excursion, gourmet meals, champagne, and hot showers. Possible locations include: Cocaya, Jatum Cocha, Huririma, and Sani. Your guide will determine the location based on the cruise, weather conditions, and position of the boat. In the evening, you will stay at the camp with a local guide and members of the crew. A special dinner will be served. In the morning, kayak along secret rivers to observe nature and wildlife. After a delicious breakfast, you will return to the M/V Anakonda. Please inquire with ExpeditionTrips for more details.

Included:

Transfers to/from vessel when arriving on recommended flights; shipboard accommodations; programmed visits according to itinerary with a certified naturalist guide; unlimited water, coffee, and tea; all meals onboard the ship. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:
Airfare Quito-Coca-Quito; transfers to and from airport in Quito; community entrance fees; alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages (except water, coffee, and tea); tips and gratuities; WiFi; personal expenses; fuel surcharge may apply.

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!