Myanmar River Cruise – Mandalay Roundtrip

Southeast Asia River Cruise

  • Road to Mandalay
  • River Boat
  • 82 Capacity
  • 8 Days
  • 2014, 2015 View Departure>
    • 2014
    • Nov 5 Wed Offer
    • Nov 12 Wed Offer
    • Nov 19 Wed Offer
    • Nov 26 Wed Offer
    • Dec 3 Wed Offer
    • Dec 10 Wed Offer
    • Dec 19 Fri Offer
    • Dec 26 Fri Offer
    • 2015
    • Jan 7 Wed Offer
    • Jan 14 Wed Offer
    • Jan 21 Wed Offer
    • Jan 28 Wed Offer
    • Feb 4 Wed Offer
    • Feb 11 Wed Offer
    • Feb 18 Wed Offer
    • Feb 25 Wed Offer
    • Mar 4 Wed Offer
    • Mar 11 Wed Offer
    • Mar 18 Wed Offer
    • Mar 25 Wed Offer
    • Apr 1 Wed Offer
    • Jul 15 Wed Offer
    • Jul 22 Wed Offer
    • Jul 29 Wed Offer
    • Sep 30 Wed Offer
    • Oct 7 Wed Offer
    • Oct 14 Wed Offer
    • Oct 21 Wed Offer
    • Oct 28 Wed Offer
    • Nov 4 Wed Offer
    • Nov 11 Wed Offer
    • Nov 18 Wed Offer
    • Nov 25 Wed Offer
    • Dec 2 Wed Offer
    • Dec 16 Wed Offer
    • Dec 26 Sat Offer
  • Price from
  • $2,170

Summary : Explore ancient temples and bustling villages on this unforgettable adventure along Myanmar's (Burma) serene Ayeyarwady River. Visit colorful local markets, ancient pagodas, colonial houses set high in the mountains, and tour an ancient capital by horse-drawn cart. Contemplate the beauty of spectacular panoramic views atop the Sagaing Hills and return to the ship each night for peaceful star-gazing and drinks on the deck.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture

PRICING

Just-Released Offer Pay no single supplement in select cabins.

View offer details

Prices from
$2,170 to $11,400

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Yangon / Mandalay, Myanmar

After a domestic flight from Yangon to Mandalay, visit the Sagaing Hills and enjoy the spectacular panoramic views. Transfer to the ship on the Ayeyarwady River. After lunch, enjoy a guided tour of the key sites of the city.

Day 2
Ava / Bagan

Join an early morning walking tour of Shwe Kyet Yet village. Return for breakfast as the ship sails to the ancient capital of Ava, where you'll disembark for a tour by horse-drawn cart. Return to the ship for lunch and set sail for Bagan once more, enjoying an evening at leisure on board and a casual cocktail party followed by dinner on board.

Day 3
Bagan

The ship arrives at Bagan, where a guide introduces you to the most important of the 2,000 temples. After lunch, continue the tour or choose to explore at leisure with a hired bicycle or horse-drawn cart. Return to the ship in the evening for dinner and local entertainment.

Day 4
Mount Popa

Enjoy a full day's excursion to Mount Popa, a national park and believed to be the sacred home of powerful Nats or ancient spirits. Return to the ship for dinner and local entertainment.

Day 5
Bagan

After breakfast join your guide to explore some of Bagan's bustling local markets. Alternatively, you can hire a bicycle or horse-drawn cart and explore this enchanting area on your own. The ship anchors mid-river for the evening, providing a marvelous opportunity to observe the stars, followed by a spectacular dinner.

Day 6
Mandalay / Mingun

Relax on-board with a morning at leisure, including a cooking demonstration on the top deck. The ship moors in Mandalay late afternoon for a tour of Mingun, home to the enormous, ruined pagoda of King Bodawpaya. Return to the ship for dinner and local entertainment.

Day 7
Maymyo

Explore on a full day's excursion to Maymyo, a colonial hill station set high in the mountains. Enjoy a typical Shan lunch at a colonial house. Enjoy a final farewell dinner aboard the ship.

Day 8
Mandalay / Yangon

After an early breakfast you are transferred to Mandalay airport for your onward flight to Yangon.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips.com is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Hot Air Balloon Option: Oct 20-Mar 20 departures only. Enjoy a 3 hour balloon flight (approx.) over Bagan weather permitting. See rates section for pricing. Once confirmed, no refund will be given unless cancelled due to weather.

Included:
Roundtrip flight between Yangon and Mandalay; transfers between ship and Mandalay airport; cabin accommodations; most guided excursions; all meals while onboard; local beer, tea, coffee, soft drinks and bottled water.

Not Included:
Airfare except between Yangon and Mandalay; passport and visa expenses; travel insurance; departure taxes; alcoholic beverages (except local beer); fees for medical services; items of a personal nature such as laundry, salon and boutique purchases; optional excursions; optional gratuities at your discretion; fuel surcharge may apply.