1 877 412-8527

Mekong Discovery Cruise – High and Low Water

Southeast Asia River Cruise Information

  • Aqua Mekong
  • River Boat
  • 40 Capacity
  • 4 Days
  • 2017, 2018, 2019 View Departure>
    • 2017
    • Nov 28 Tue
    • Dec 19 Tue
    • 2018
    • Jan 2 Tue
    • Jan 16 Tue
    • Jan 30 Tue
    • Feb 13 Tue
    • Feb 27 Tue
    • Mar 13 Tue
    • Mar 27 Tue
    • Apr 10 Tue
    • Apr 24 Tue Offer
    • May 8 Tue Offer
    • Jun 19 Tue Offer
    • Jul 3 Tue Offer
    • Jul 17 Tue Offer
    • Jul 31 Tue Offer
    • Aug 14 Tue Offer
    • Aug 28 Tue
    • Sep 11 Tue
    • Sep 25 Tue
    • Oct 9 Tue
    • Oct 23 Tue
    • Nov 6 Tue
    • Nov 20 Tue
    • Dec 4 Tue
    • Dec 18 Tue
    • 2019
    • Jan 1 Tue
    • Jan 15 Tue
    • Jan 29 Tue
    • Feb 12 Tue
    • Feb 26 Tue
    • Mar 12 Tue
    • Mar 26 Tue
    • Apr 9 Tue
    • Apr 23 Tue
    • May 7 Tue Offer
    • Jul 2 Tue Offer
    • Jul 16 Tue Offer
    • Jul 30 Tue Offer
    • Aug 13 Tue Offer
    • Aug 27 Tue
    • Sep 10 Tue
    • Sep 24 Tue
    • Oct 8 Tue
  • Price from
  • $1,985
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Enjoy an introduction to the Mekong River in true style on this three-night Mekong River Discovery cruise from Phnom Penh to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Set off from the modern marvels and colonial charms of Phnom Penh, Cambodia's capital. Visit Tan Chau along the way, a vibrant border town, and My An Hung, a typical Mekong Delta village with verdant plantations. See fishermen in long tail boats and stop at Vinh Trang Pagoda, the largest Mahayan Buddhist temple in the region.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Just-Released Offer Save 30% per person

View offer details

Prices from
$2,835 to $4,200

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Mekong River / Phnom Penh / Cambodia

Passengers are welcomed over custom sundowners like the Salted Watermelon Crush with Thai basil. Celebrate the onward journey towards the heart of this mighty river with a Khmer Apsara performance, an indigenous tradition memorialized on the temple walls at Angkor Wat.

Day 2
Mekong River / Ka'om Samnor / Vinh Xuong Border Crossing / Tan Chau / Chau Doc / My An Hung / Vietnam

Say ‘Good Morning, Vietnam’ while you cross the border and sail towards Tan Chau, a vibrant border town where you will take the local rickshaw called xe loi for a trip around town or pedal 11 miles on the peaceful island of Long Khanh. In the afternoon, visit a typical Mekong Delta village called My An Hung where you will walk through verdant plantations. You will be invited to a local's home to taste local fruits while hearing traditional folk songs performed by villagers, followed by a unique unicorn dance. A biking option is also available for those who wish to explore on wheels.

Day 3
Mekong River / Binh Thanh / Sa Dec / Cai Be

Begin the day at the Binh Thanh mat weaving village or opt to visit Sa Dec where you will peruse the vibrant market and see the famous house of Marguerite Duras' legendary lover, Mr. Huynh Thuy Le. You will continue downstream for Cai Be, zigzagging in the sampan past lone fishermen on their long tail boats. Later, the skiffs will moor at a wooden pier. Here in Cai Be, walk or bike ride among high-roofed open courtyard houses, some dating back more than 100 years, and currently inhabited by gracious locals who will invite you to glimpse their property.

Day 4
Mekong River / My Tho / Ho Chi Minh / Vietnam

Disembarkation. En route to Ho Chi Minh, stop at Vinh Trang Pagoda, one of the largest Mahayana Buddhist temple in the region. You will notice the mixed architectural style and see three large Buddha statues plus an impressive collection of bonsai trees.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions—and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition.

2018-19 Low Season:
5/1/2018-7/27/2018; 5/3/2019-7/30/2019
2018-19 High Season:
1/2/2018-4/30/2018; 7/28/2018-12/28/2018; 1/1/2019-5/2/2019; 7/31/2019-12/28/2019

Special Guest Departures:
Conservationist Jean-Michel Cousteau – 9/19/2017, 2/27/2018
Travel with explorer, filmmaker, and ocean conservation champion, Jean-Michel Cousteau, the son of Jacque Cousteau.

Included:

Group transfers to and from vessel and the meeting points in Phnom Penh and Ho Chi Minh City; cabin accommodations and meals aboard the ship; beverages (non-alcoholic, premium wine, and beer); shore excursions; laundry service; bike use; entrance fees en route; wireless internet. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:

Air transportation; passport and visa fees; private transfers; travel insurance; items of a personal nature; boutique purchases; spa treatments; guide and crew gratuities; fuel surcharge may apply.

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!