Galapagos In-Brief – Southern

Galapagos Cruise

  • Galapagos Legend
  • Expedition Ship
  • 100 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2014, 2015 View Departure>
    • 2014
    • Nov 27 Thu
    • Dec 11 Thu
    • Dec 25 Thu
    • 2015
    • Jan 8 Thu
    • Jan 22 Thu
    • Mar 5 Thu
    • Mar 19 Thu
    • Apr 2 Thu
    • Apr 16 Thu
    • Apr 30 Thu
    • May 14 Thu
    • May 28 Thu
    • Jun 11 Thu
    • Jun 25 Thu
    • Jul 9 Thu
    • Jul 23 Thu
    • Aug 6 Thu
    • Aug 20 Thu
    • Sep 3 Thu
    • Sep 17 Thu
    • Oct 1 Thu
    • Oct 15 Thu
    • Oct 29 Thu
    • Nov 12 Thu
    • Nov 26 Thu
    • Dec 10 Thu
    • Dec 24 Thu
  • Price from
  • $1,899

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife--from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies. 

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling

PRICING

Early Booking Discounts available

Prices from
$1,899 to $7,380

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
San Cristóbal Island

Arrive in San Cristobal and transfer to the port to board the Legend. Keep an eye out for the distinctive, inflated red throat of the frigate bird. Learn about the history of the islands at the Interpretation Center. Enjoy the landscape from a scenic view point and listen for mockingbirds.

Day 2
Española Island

Explore Española Island today! Visit Gardner Bay, where you may spot Galapagos hawks, American oyster catchers, Galapagos doves, hood mockingbirds, 3 species of Darwin finches, yellow warblers, lava lizards, and marine iguanas. Travel to Suarez Point, where you will explore volcanic formations and see riveting wildlife. Suarez Point is a very important site for sea lion colonies and bird watching. A major highlight is their mating season, from May through December.

Day 3
Floreana Island

Continue the famous tradition of placing unstamped postcards inside the barrel at Post Office Bay. Also, observe the mocking bird of the Galapagos, some species of Darwin’s finches, yellow warblers, and lava lizards. Visit Cormorant Point, which features endemic plants such as Scalesia villosa, Galapagos daisies, white sand black mangrove, and holy stick.

Day 4
Santa Cruz Island

Visit the Highlands of Santa Cruz where you can observe giant tortoises, lava tubes, and the wet zone scalesia forest. In the afternoon, spend time at the Charles Darwin Research Station. Observe the giant tortoises that are part of the reproduction program.

Day 5
Daphne / Baltra Island

Circumnavigate Daphne's volcanic tuff cone, formed by successive explosions produced by the mixture of lava and water. Observe Darwin’s finches, blue-footed boobies, nazca Boobies, red-billed tropicbirds, swallow-tailed gulls, and brown noddies. Afterwards, depart for Baltra Airport for return flights to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Dry Dock Dates: Jan 29 - Feb 23, 2015

Included: 
Cabin accommodations aboard ship; all meals aboard ship; welcome and farewell cocktail; 24-hour coffee/tea station; all shore activities and excursions; snorkeling opportunities with gear; guide and lecture services; baggage handling; dinghy rides to/from ship.

Not Included: 
Hotel nights before/after cruise; transfers in Quito or Guayaquil; Galapagos National Park entrance fee $100 per person ($50 per child under 12), subject to change without notice; Galapagos Transit Card ($10 per person); international airfare; airfare to/from Galapagos Islands; airport shuttle service; charges and all items of a personal nature such as laundry, massage, consumption from the mini-bar located in suites, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; gratuities to ship staff is left to the discretion of the passenger; traveler’s insurance; wet suit rental (advanced reservation required, $25 per person); kayak rental ($30 per person each use); scuba diving fee; Internet; taxes for items/activities onboard; fuel surcharge ($90 per person approx.).

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands: 
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $450-$600 per adult; $250-$325 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).