1 877 412-8527

Galapagos In-Brief – Southern

Galapagos Cruise

  • Galapagos Legend
  • Expedition Ship
  • 100 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2015, 2016 View Departure>
    • 2015
    • Sep 3 Thu
    • Sep 17 Thu
    • Oct 1 Thu
    • Oct 15 Thu
    • Oct 29 Thu
    • Nov 12 Thu
    • Nov 26 Thu
    • Dec 10 Thu
    • Dec 24 Thu
    • 2016
    • Jan 21 Thu
    • Feb 4 Thu
    • Feb 18 Thu
    • Mar 3 Thu
    • Mar 17 Thu
    • Mar 31 Thu
    • Apr 14 Thu
    • Apr 28 Thu
    • May 12 Thu
    • May 26 Thu
    • Jun 9 Thu
    • Jun 23 Thu
    • Jul 7 Thu
    • Jul 21 Thu
    • Aug 4 Thu
    • Aug 18 Thu
    • Sep 1 Thu
    • Sep 15 Thu
    • Sep 29 Thu
    • Oct 13 Thu
    • Oct 27 Thu
    • Nov 10 Thu
    • Nov 24 Thu
    • Dec 8 Thu
    • Dec 22 Thu
  • Price from
  • $2,215

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife--from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies. 

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling

PRICING

Prices from
$2,215 to $7,822

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
San Cristóbal Island

Arrive in San Cristobal and transfer to the port to board the Legend. Keep an eye out for the distinctive, inflated red throat of the frigate bird. Learn about the history of the islands at the Interpretation Center. Enjoy the landscape from a scenic view point and listen for mockingbirds.

Day 2
Española Island

Explore Española Island today! Visit Gardner Bay, where you may spot Galapagos hawks, American oyster catchers, Galapagos doves, hood mockingbirds, 3 species of Darwin finches, yellow warblers, lava lizards, and marine iguanas. Travel to Suarez Point, where you will explore volcanic formations and see riveting wildlife. Suarez Point is a very important site for sea lion colonies and bird watching. A major highlight is their mating season, from May through December.

Day 3
Floreana Island

Continue the famous tradition of placing unstamped postcards inside the barrel at Post Office Bay. Also, observe the mocking bird of the Galapagos, some species of Darwin’s finches, yellow warblers, and lava lizards. Visit Cormorant Point, which features endemic plants such as Scalesia villosa, Galapagos daisies, white sand black mangrove, and holy stick.

Day 4
Santa Cruz Island

Visit the Highlands of Santa Cruz where you can observe giant tortoises, lava tubes, and the wet zone scalesia forest. In the afternoon, spend time at the Charles Darwin Research Station. Observe the giant tortoises that are part of the reproduction program.

Day 5
Daphne / Baltra Island

Discover Daphne's volcanic tuff cone, formed by successive explosions produced by the mixture of lava and water. Observe Darwin’s finches, blue-footed boobies, nazca Boobies, red-billed tropicbirds, swallow-tailed gulls, and brown noddies. Afterwards, depart for Baltra Airport for return flights to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes. Read this itinerary as a guide only, as the exact route and the wildlife you encounter may vary.

Included: 
Cabin accommodations aboard ship; all meals aboard ship; welcome and farewell cocktail; 24-hour coffee/tea station; shore activities and excursions; snorkeling; guide and lecture services. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included: 
Any airfare; accommodation before/after cruise; transfers in Quito or Guayaquil; Galapagos National Park entrance fee; Galapagos Transit Card; items of a personal nature such as laundry, medical services, consumption from the mini-bar located in suites, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages except those mentioned as included; gratuities to ship staff is left to the discretion of the passenger; traveler’s insurance; wet suit rental; kayak rental; Internet; taxes for items/activities onboard; fuel surcharge.

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands: 
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $450-$600 per adult; $250-$325 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).