Galapagos In-Brief – Western

Galapagos Cruise

  • Galapagos Legend
  • Expedition Ship
  • 100 Capacity
  • 5 Days
  • 2014, 2015 View Departure>
    • 2014
    • Nov 6 Thu
    • Nov 20 Thu
    • Dec 4 Thu
    • Dec 18 Thu
    • 2015
    • Jan 1 Thu
    • Jan 15 Thu
    • Feb 26 Thu
    • Mar 12 Thu
    • Mar 26 Thu
    • Apr 9 Thu
    • Apr 23 Thu
    • May 7 Thu
    • May 21 Thu
    • Jun 4 Thu
    • Jun 18 Thu
    • Jul 2 Thu
    • Jul 16 Thu
    • Jul 30 Thu
    • Aug 13 Thu
    • Aug 27 Thu
    • Sep 10 Thu
    • Sep 24 Thu
    • Oct 8 Thu
    • Oct 22 Thu
    • Nov 5 Thu
    • Nov 19 Thu
    • Dec 3 Thu
    • Dec 17 Thu
    • Dec 31 Thu
  • Price from
  • $1,899

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife--from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies.

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling

PRICING

Early Booking Discounts available

Prices from
$1,899 to $7,380

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Baltra Island / Santa Cruz Island

Arrive at Baltra Airport, bus transfer to the port, check in on board. Cruise to Black Turtle Cove, a turtle sanctuary with 4 species of mangroves. Observe turtles swimming in calm waters peaking their heads above the surface while fish, rays and small sharks circle below. White-tipped reef sharks can be seen beneath the boat. Sea birds, including pelicans, herons and egrets, all feed in the cove.

Day 2
Santiago Island / Rabida Island

Explore Santiago Island's Sullivan Bay covered by lava flows and interesting geological features formed during the last quarter of the 19th century.

Experience Rabida's unique beaches covered in dark red sand. It is considered the epicenter of the Galapagos Islands due to the diversity of its volcanic geology. Nesting Brown Pelicans are found from July through September and nine species of Darwin’s finches inhabit the island. Cruise by Zodiac along cliffs to observe nesting seabirds, and snorkel off the coast where marine life is particularly active.

Day 3
Isabela Island

Visit the volcanic ash beach and coral area at Urbina Bay. Explore the uplifted coral reef that resulted from the 1954 volcanic activity, with a spectacular view of Alcedo Volcano. After the walk, enjoy time for snorkeling. Learn about the eruption of five volcanoes that formed this island on a visit to Tagus Cove. Admire a variety of seabirds, such as blue-footed boobies, brown noddy, terns, flightless cormorant, and a large number of Galapagos penguins (seasonal).

Day 4
Fernandina Island / Isabela Island

See the biggest marine iguanas mingling with sally-light foot crabs, as well as, flightless cormorants nesting sites at Espinoza Point. At Vicente Roca Point, enjoy great deep water snorkeling at one of the richest marine havens on Earth and the opportunity to find nazca and blue-footed boobies, noddies, brown pelicans, penguins, sea turtles, flightless cormorants, and white-tipped sharks.

Day 5
Santa Cruz Island / Baltra Island

This morning trek through the highlands of Santa Cruz, observe the famous giant tortoises in their natural habitat, walk inside surprising lava tubes. Then, travel to the Baltra Airport for return flights to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Dry Dock Dates: Jan 29 - Feb 23, 2015

Included: 
Cabin accommodations aboard ship; all meals aboard ship; welcome and farewell cocktail; 24-hour coffee/tea station; all shore activities and excursions; snorkeling opportunities with gear; guide and lecture services; baggage handling; dinghy rides to/from ship.

Not Included: 
Hotel nights before/after cruise; transfers in Quito or Guayaquil; Galapagos National Park entrance fee $100 per person ($50 per child under 12), subject to change without notice; Galapagos Transit Card ($10 per person); international airfare; airfare to/from Galapagos Islands; airport shuttle service; charges and all items of a personal nature such as laundry, massage, consumption from the mini-bar located in suites, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; gratuities to ship staff is left to the discretion of the passenger; traveler’s insurance; wet suit rental (advanced reservation required, $25 per person); kayak rental ($30 per person each use); scuba diving fee; Internet; taxes for items/activities onboard; fuel surcharge ($90 per person approx.).

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands: 
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $450-$600 per adult; $250-$325 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).