Galapagos In-Brief – Southern

Galapagos Cruise

  • Coral I / Coral II
  • Motor Yacht
  • 36 or 20 Capacity
  • 4 Days
  • 2015, 2016 View Departure>
    • 2015
    • Apr 12 Sun
    • Apr 26 Sun
    • May 10 Sun
    • May 24 Sun
    • Jun 7 Sun
    • Jun 21 Sun
    • Jul 5 Sun
    • Jul 19 Sun
    • Aug 2 Sun
    • Aug 16 Sun
    • Aug 30 Sun
    • Sep 13 Sun
    • Sep 27 Sun
    • Oct 11 Sun
    • Oct 25 Sun
    • Nov 8 Sun
    • Nov 22 Sun
    • Dec 6 Sun
    • Dec 20 Sun
    • 2016
    • Jan 3 Sun
    • Jan 17 Sun
    • Jan 31 Sun
    • Feb 14 Sun
    • Feb 28 Sun
    • Mar 13 Sun
    • Mar 27 Sun
    • Apr 10 Sun
    • Apr 24 Sun
    • May 8 Sun
    • May 22 Sun
    • Jun 5 Sun
    • Jun 19 Sun
    • Jul 3 Sun
    • Jul 17 Sun
    • Jul 31 Sun
    • Aug 14 Sun
    • Aug 28 Sun
    • Sep 11 Sun
    • Sep 25 Sun
    • Oct 9 Sun
    • Oct 23 Sun
    • Nov 6 Sun
    • Nov 20 Sun
    • Dec 4 Sun
    • Dec 18 Sun
  • Price from
  • $1,662

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife--from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies.

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling

PRICING

Prices from
$1,662 to $2,480

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Baltra Island / Santa Cruz Island

Arrive at Baltra's airport and begin the 8-day Galapagos adventure. Visit the Charles Darwin Research Station on Santa Cruz. Observe the giant tortoises that are part of the breeding program. Admire a prickly-pear cactus forest and spot Darwin’s finches and other land birds. The Darwin Station also works to provide environmental education to communities and schools within the islands, as well as visiting travelers.

Day 2
Santa Fe Island / South Plaza Island

Santa Fe is a small island, with the main attraction being its white coral beach with incredible snorkeling opportunities and a variety of sea birds and colorful fish. On South Plaza Island, the white color of the rocks contrasts with the red cloak of vegetation (Sesuvium portolacastrum) and a cactus forest. Observe land and marine iguanas, sea lions, blue-footed boobies and many other sea birds.

Day 3
North Seymour Island / Santa Cruz Island

In the morning, visit North Seymour Island which is home to a major nesting colony of blue-footed boobies, and has the largest colony of frigate birds. Encounter sea lions, land iguanas, and on a lucky day, you might even come across a Galapagos snake.

In the afternoon, visit Bachas Beach on Santa Cruz Island. Encounter sea birds, marine iguanas, sea turtles, Darwin’s finches, mockingbirds, and gulls, as well as interesting native and endemic vegetation. Take a stroll along a white sand beach that is a main nesting site of sea turtles.

Day 4
San Cristóbal Island

Today, explore the Interpretation Center on San Cristóbal Island. Learn about the history of the islands in the context of nature, humankind and conservation. Visit Tijeretas Hill to walk through beautiful landscapes ending with a magnificent view nearby a large frigate bird colony. Depart for San Cristóbal Airport to take the flight back to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Dry Dock Dates: TBA

Included: 
Cabin accommodations aboard ship; all meals aboard ship; welcome and farewell cocktail; 24-hour coffee/tea station; shore activities and excursions; snorkeling; guide and lecture services. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included: 
Any airfare; accommodation before/after cruise; transfers in Quito or Guayaquil; Galapagos National Park entrance fee; Galapagos Transit Card; items of a personal nature such as laundry, medical services, consumption from the mini-bar located in suites, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages except those mentioned as included; gratuities to ship staff is left to the discretion of the passenger; traveler’s insurance; wet suit rental; kayak rental; Internet; taxes for items/activities onboard; fuel surcharge.

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands: 
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $450-$600 per adult; $250-$325 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).