Galapagos In-Brief – Southern

Galapagos Cruise

  • Coral I / Coral II
  • Motor Yacht
  • 36 or 20 Capacity
  • 4 Days
  • 2014, 2015 View Departure>
    • 2014
    • Oct 12 Sun
    • Oct 26 Sun
    • Nov 9 Sun
    • Nov 23 Sun
    • Dec 7 Sun
    • Dec 21 Sun
    • 2015
    • Jan 4 Sun
    • Jan 18 Sun
    • Feb 1 Sun
    • Feb 15 Sun
    • Mar 1 Sun
    • Mar 15 Sun
    • Mar 29 Sun
    • Apr 12 Sun
    • Apr 26 Sun
    • May 10 Sun
    • May 24 Sun
    • Jun 7 Sun
    • Jun 21 Sun
    • Jul 5 Sun
    • Jul 19 Sun
    • Aug 2 Sun
    • Aug 16 Sun
    • Aug 30 Sun
    • Sep 13 Sun
    • Sep 27 Sun
    • Oct 11 Sun
    • Oct 25 Sun
    • Nov 8 Sun
    • Nov 22 Sun
    • Dec 6 Sun
    • Dec 20 Sun
  • Price from
  • $1,449

Summary : The Galapagos Islands are considered one of the most spectacular and pristine National Parks in the world. Visitors delight in the abundant, unusual, and surprisingly approachable wildlife--from Galapagos giant tortoises to playful sea lions to the fascinating blue-footed boobies.

We strongly recommend two pre-cruise nights and one post-cruise night in Quito or Guayaquil. Please inquire about adding these or other services to your trip.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Hiking, Kayaking, Snorkeling

PRICING

Early Booking Discounts available

Prices from
$1,449 to $2,340

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Baltra Island / Santa Cruz Island

Arrive at Baltra's airport and begin the 8-day Galapagos adventure. Visit the Charles Darwin Research Station on Santa Cruz. Observe the giant tortoises that are part of the breeding program. Admire a prickly-pear cactus forest and spot Darwin’s finches and other land birds. The Darwin Station also works to provide environmental education to communities and schools within the islands, as well as visiting travelers.

Day 2
Santa Fe Island / South Plaza Island

Santa Fe is a small island, with the main attraction being its white coral beach with incredible snorkeling opportunities and a variety of sea birds and colorful fish. On South Plaza Island, the white color of the rocks contrasts with the red cloak of vegetation (Sesuvium portolacastrum) and a cactus forest. Observe land and marine iguanas, sea lions, blue-footed boobies and many other sea birds.

Day 3
North Seymour Island / Santa Cruz Island

In the morning, visit North Seymour Island which is home to a major nesting colony of blue-footed boobies, and has the largest colony of frigate birds. Encounter sea lions, land iguanas, and on a lucky day, you might even come across a Galapagos snake.

In the afternoon, visit Bachas Beach on Santa Cruz Island. Encounter sea birds, marine iguanas, sea turtles, Darwin’s finches, mockingbirds, and gulls, as well as interesting native and endemic vegetation. Take a stroll along a white sand beach that is a main nesting site of sea turtles.

Day 4
San Cristóbal Island

Today, explore the Interpretation Center on San Cristóbal Island. Learn about the history of the islands in the context of nature, humankind and conservation. Visit Tijeretas Hill to walk through beautiful landscapes ending with a magnificent view nearby a large frigate bird colony. Depart for San Cristóbal Airport to take the flight back to the mainland.

Notes

This itinerary is subject to change. ExpeditionTrips is not responsible for itinerary changes.

Dry Dock Dates: TBA

Included: 
Cabin accommodations aboard ship; all meals aboard ship; welcome and farewell cocktail; 24-hour coffee/tea station; all shore activities and excursions; snorkeling opportunities with gear; guide and lecture services; baggage handling; dinghy rides to/from ship.

Not Included: 
Hotel nights before/after cruise; transfers in Quito or Guayaquil; Galapagos National Park entrance fee $100 per person ($50 per child under 12), subject to change without notice; Galapagos Transit Card ($10 per person); international airfare; airfare to/from Galapagos Islands; airport shuttle service; charges and all items of a personal nature such as laundry, massage, consumption from the mini-bar located in suites, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; gratuities to ship staff is left to the discretion of the passenger; traveler’s insurance; wet suit rental (advanced reservation required, $25 per person); kayak rental ($30 per person each use); scuba diving fee; Internet; taxes for items/activities onboard; fuel surcharge ($90 per person approx.).

Airfare between Quito/Guayaquil and the Galapagos Islands: 
The flights between mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) and the Galapagos Islands are an additional cost. To secure your seats on often overbooked flights, ExpeditionTrips must reserve these flights for you at the time of cruise booking. Approximate cost (including service fee): $450-$600 per adult; $250-$325 per child under 12 (copy of passport required).