Amazon Exploration

Amazon River Cruise

  • Delfin I
  • River Boat
  • 8 Capacity
  • 4 Days
  • 2014 View Departure>
    • 2014
    • Apr 21 Mon
    • Apr 28 Mon
    • May 5 Mon
    • May 12 Mon
    • May 19 Mon
    • May 26 Mon
    • Jun 23 Mon
    • Jun 30 Mon
    • Jul 7 Mon
    • Jul 14 Mon
    • Jul 21 Mon
    • Jul 28 Mon
    • Aug 4 Mon
    • Aug 11 Mon
    • Aug 25 Mon
    • Sep 1 Mon
    • Sep 8 Mon
    • Sep 15 Mon
    • Sep 22 Mon
    • Sep 29 Mon
    • Oct 6 Mon
    • Oct 13 Mon
    • Oct 20 Mon
    • Oct 27 Mon
    • Nov 3 Mon
    • Nov 17 Mon
    • Nov 24 Mon
    • Dec 1 Mon
    • Dec 8 Mon
    • Dec 15 Mon
    • Dec 22 Mon
    • Dec 29 Mon
  • Price from
  • $3,595

Summary : Experience an ideal combination, natural wonders and native cultural history, aboard a comfortable and modern river boat. Explore the Amazon rainforest's canopy from 85 feet in the air along the Canopy Walkway. Cruise the river that carries the highest volume of water into the ocean; more than the top ten largest rivers combined. Fish for piranhas in a pristine lake and discover Pacaya Samiria National Reserve, the largest protected flooded forests in the world. Visit a local village and learn about native peoples' lifestyle and culture. More than 1/3 of all species recorded on earth are found in the Amazon basin, constituting the largest collection of living plant and animal species in the world. Keep an eye out for dolphins, monkeys, toucans, parrots, sloths and butterflies which can be found in the Amazon's numerous tributaries.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking

PRICING

Prices from
$3,595 to $3,643

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Iquitos / Nauta

Arrive in Iquitos and transfer to Nauta, the heart of the Peruvian Amazon. Settle into your suite and take in the view as you embark on your Amazon adventure. Enjoy fine Peruvian cuisine on your first evening surrounded by the sounds of the Amazon.

Day 2
San Isidro / Pacaya Samiria National Reserve

Hike through pristine rainforest identifying emergent trees and canopy trees reaching up to 180 feet in height. Many trees have buttress roots extending high up the trunks. Biologically, the Amazon rainforest is one of the richest habitats on Earth abundant with unique plant and animal species. Observe a large diameter Kapok tree, discover medicinal plants and keep an eye out for exotic birds such as jacamars, collared trogons and red-capped cardinals.

Later in the day, cruise by skiff deep into Pacaya Samiria National Reserve and observe its amazing diversity of flora and fauna. Enjoy myriads of bird species, colorful butterflies, unique insects, noisy monkey troops and possibly pink and gray river dolphins.

Day 3
Tawampa Lake / Nauta Cano

Explore the rainforest canopy from 85 feet in the air along a walkway extending 1/3 of a mile. The Canopy Walkway provides access to the unique treetop ecosystem excellent for up-close observation of rainforest wildlife and vegetation. Spread between 14 of the area's largest trees, it is one of the longest canopy walkways in the world. Canoe through Tawampa Lake and possibly observe Paiche, the largest fish in the Amazon Basin weighing up to 170 lb.

Cruise Nauta Cano and sail quietly near shore exploring marshes, streams and oxbows. Fish for piranhas and try to catch a few of the 25 different species including black, white and red-bellied. After sunset, as the fireflies light up the jungle, join a night safari in search of herons, spectacled owls, bats flying over the water scooping up fish and caimans.

Day 4
Amazon Headwaters / San Francisco Village

Wake up at the birth place of the mighty Amazon River where the Ucayali and Marañon Rivers merge. Search for the elusive and exotic fresh water pink river dolphin with a long snout and little to no dorsal.
Visit San Francisco Village and learn about the local community and culture. Take a tour of the local school; meet the students and their teacher. Disembark in Nauta and stop in at the Manatee Rescue Center to learn about their important rehabilitation work in the area. Delight in these amazing creatures, touch them and even feed them by bottle if desired.

Transfer to Iquitos Airport.

Notes

Please note that the day-to-day schedule must be considered approximate. The exact order of the days and specific features may be altered due to navigational considerations.

Kayaking:
Please check with your naturalist about the weather conditions regarding the usage of free kayaks. If the water level and forecast permits, you will be able to sign up for optional kayaking sessions. These sessions will be conducted in calm waters where catch and release fishing and paddling are ideal. Our kayaks are good for two passengers and your group will always be in the company of an experienced naturalist.

Included:
Cabin accommodations; guided excursions; all meals while onboard; all bar consumptions except premium brands; house wines with all meals; transfer to/from vessel in Nauta when using recommended Iquitos flights; entrance fee to Pacaya Samiria National Reserve.

Not Included:
Airfare to and from Iquitos; cost of medical emergencies (including evacuation); travel insurance; departure taxes; passport expenses; visa fees if applicable; mini bar consumptions; items of a personal nature; guide and crew gratuities ($120 suggested per guest); fuel surcharge may apply.