1 877 412-8527

Amazon Discovery – Low Water Season

Amazon River Cruise Information

  • Aria Amazon
  • River Boat
  • 32 Capacity
  • 4 Days
  • 2018, 2019 View Departure>
    • 2018
    • Jun 1 Fri
    • Jun 8 Fri
    • Jun 15 Fri
    • Jun 22 Fri
    • Jun 29 Fri
    • Jul 6 Fri
    • Jul 13 Fri
    • Jul 20 Fri
    • Jul 27 Fri
    • Aug 3 Fri
    • Aug 10 Fri
    • Aug 17 Fri
    • Aug 24 Fri
    • Aug 31 Fri
    • Sep 7 Fri
    • Sep 14 Fri
    • Sep 21 Fri
    • Sep 28 Fri
    • Oct 5 Fri
    • Oct 12 Fri
    • Oct 19 Fri
    • Oct 26 Fri
    • 2019
    • Jun 7 Fri
    • Jun 14 Fri
    • Jun 21 Fri
    • Jun 28 Fri
    • Jul 5 Fri
    • Jul 12 Fri
    • Jul 19 Fri
    • Jul 26 Fri
    • Aug 2 Fri
    • Aug 9 Fri
    • Aug 16 Fri
    • Aug 23 Fri
    • Aug 30 Fri
    • Sep 6 Fri
    • Sep 13 Fri
    • Sep 20 Fri
    • Sep 27 Fri
    • Oct 4 Fri
    • Oct 11 Fri
    • Oct 18 Fri
    • Oct 25 Fri
  • Price from
  • $3,645
  • I'm Interested

Summary : Experience the diverse environments of the Amazon aboard a luxurious riverboat during the low water season. View one of the great spectacles of the Southern Hemisphere: the sun rising over the birthplace of the Amazon River. Fish for piranhas in hidden black water lakes. Explore the jungle and venture into the Amazon wilderness to see the famous Kapok Trees and meet indigenous people. Observe monkeys, toucans, caimans, iguanas, sloths and possibly pink dolphins during expeditions with highly knowledgeable naturalist guides. Enjoy incredible scenery on one of the most luxurious and exciting journeys of a lifetime.

Activities : Birding, Child-Friendly, Culture, Hiking, Kayaking, Triple/Quad Cabins

PRICING

Prices from
$3,645 to $4,200

View All Rates

Itinerary
Day 1
Iquitos / Nauta / Embarkation / Maranon River

You will meet at Iquitos International Airport then journey with your group by air-conditioned vehicle through the Peruvian countryside to arrive at the Nauta Lounge in time for lunch, or you will be served a box lunch en route depending on the flight arrival time. In the afternoon, you will set off on your first skiff excursion to visit the birthplace of the Amazon. At 6:00 pm, you will board the Aria Amazon. Settle into your generously proportioned suite as you begin one of life’s greatest adventures. Following a routine safety drill and introduction to your naturalist guides, you will gather for innovative Amazonian cuisine created by your Executive Chef Pedro Miguel Schiaffino, whose restaurant, Malabar, is the one of Lima’s top ranked dining experiences.

Day 2
Yanayacu Pucate River / Marañon River

Commence today’s adventures near the main entrance of Pacaya Samiria National Reserve, cruising along Yanayacu Pucate in the comfort of state-of-the-art skiffs. Kayak, canoe, and swim in these unspoiled black waters, keeping your eyes peeled for the Amazon’s legendary pink dolphins. In the afternoon, you will visit a remote village along the Marañon River to learn about traditional customs. Focus a hi-tech telescope on the night sky to identify the planets and constellations.

Day 3
Samiria River / Nauta Cano or Amazonian Natural Park

Set off by skiffs for an excursion along the Samiria River with optional fishing. Enjoy an after lunch flora and fauna lecture, then venture out for a singularly thrilling jungle walk across suspended bridges deep into the high Amazon rain forest. On return in the evening, enjoy the jungle symphony and extraordinary stargazing on local boats along the 'Enchanted Lake'. This evening before dinner, gather to introduce you to some of the crewmembers whom you may not have met, working 'behind the scenes' to ensure your countless exceptional experiences aboard the Aria Amazon.

Day 4
Nauta Town / Manatee Rescue Center / Transfer to the Airport

This morning, you will visit the local fresh market with your guides who can identify the day’s catch by the fishermen of the and the region’s exotic fruits. Return to the ship for breakfast and to pack up. Before saying goodbye, you will visit the Manatee Rescue Center, a kind of animal orphanage for Amazonian manatees to rescue, rehabilitate, and release them back into the wild. You will also visit San Juan craft market on route to the airport. Lunch or box lunch will be provided, depending on the exact departure flight time, which may vary. Other local activities may be included as well, according to the flight schedule.

Notes

Read this itinerary as a guide only; the exact route and program varies according to weather conditions—and the wildlife you encounter. Flexibility is the key to the success of this expedition.

What to Expect in Low Water Season:

The Amazon River in Peru has essentially two seasons; a high water season (Nov through May) and a low water season (Jun through Oct). Whichever season you choose, you will see spectacular wildlife and plant life. During the low water season, trails and jungle paths flooded from November to May are now easily accessible, allowing groups to explore deep in the jungle by foot. Fishing is at its best, and you will have the chance to see dozens of species of migratory birds in flight, something you would completely miss during the high water season. Lower water levels on the Amazon River and its tributaries make many of the creeks and lakes inaccessible, and temperatures average about 98 degrees Fahrenheit.

Special Guest Jean-Michel Cousteau:
10/5/2018
Ocean conservationist and filmmaker Jean-Michel Cousteau will be joining the 10/5/2018 departure. The son of ocean explorer Jacques Cousteau, Jean-Michel founded the Ocean Futures Society in 1999 to carry on this pioneering work and to honor his father's heritage. An award-winning producer of more than 80 films, Jean-Michel has been recognized internationally with numerous awards for his work in ocean. During this departure, travelers will experience the Amazon from the perspective of a conservationist and will get to know Cousteau along with a small group of fellow travelers. Guests will learn first-hand about Cousteau's deep experience exploring the Amazon and other remote areas around the world as he champions the cause of environmental conservation and protection. Each voyage will include evening talks with Cousteau, and screenings of several of his films.

Included:

Group transfers to/from vessel when arriving and departing on recommended flights; cabin accommodations and meals aboard the ship; bike use; excursions; non-alcoholic beverages plus select wine and beer only; Pacaya Samiria entrance fee. Subject to change without notice.

Not Included:

Airfare to and from Iquitos; private transfers; travel insurance; departure taxes; visa fees if applicable; items of a personal nature such as boutique purchases and spa services; guide and crew gratuities; fuel surcharge may apply.

Would you like to learn more about this trip or request availability?

YES!